5th International Symposium on Cryo-3D Image Analysis 2024


Wednesday 13, March 2024
Saturday 16, March 2024


Granlibakken Conference Center,

Lake Tahoe, California


We are happy to announce the 5th biennial CryoEM 3D Image Analysis Symposium to be held at Granlibakken in March 2024. As in the past, the symposium provides a GRC-like atmosphere with a strong focus on technical aspects of algorithms for image processing in CryoEM. Participants are encouraged to discuss issues in depth, and long discussion sessions are scheduled for each talk. We also have a significant poster-talk session for cutting edge developments and discussion for those bringing new concepts into CryoEM. The meeting has been very well attended in the past with ~150 participants, a large fraction of whom are active methods developers in the field. We have been very successful in attracting a range of people from students and postdocs to senior faculty, and have had very good and in depth discussions on algorithms and methodologies in this field.

The topics for this year's symposium are:

  • 3D Heterogeneity
  • Protocols for automation; from correlative LM to Aquilos and beyond
  • AI Deep Learning
  • Data Validation, model building and model quality
  • Feature Annotation and Segmentation in-situ, and identifications of proteins from volume
  • Round Table on data archiving and public data repository policies


Steve J. Ludtke
Baylor College of Medicine
Dorit Hanein
University of California, Santa Barbara


David Mastronarde

University of Colorado Boulder


Mark Basham
Rosalind Franklin Institute
Anchi Cheng
Chan Zuckerberg Imaging Institute
Pilar Cossio
Simons Foundation
Tristan Croll
Altos Labs (UK)
Joey Davis
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tilman Franke
FEI Company
Naoki Hosogi
Slavica Jonic
Sorbonne University (France)
Jason Kaelber
Rutgers University
Daisuke Kihara
Purdue University
Bronwyn Lucas
University of California, Berkeley
Adam Marko
Antonio Martinez-Sanchez
University of Murcia (Spain)
Kyle L. Morris
Colin Palmer
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Nicholas Sauter
Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging LBNL
Peter Schwander
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
Amit Singer
Princeton University
Carlos Oscar Sorzano
National Center for Biotechnology (Spain)
Dimitry Tegunov
Min Xu
Carnegie Mellon University
Koji Yonekura
Tohoku University (Japan)
Hong Zhou
University of California, Los Angeles


Jose-Maria Carazo
National Center for Biotechnology (Spain)
Edward Egelman
University of Virginia
Masahide Kikkawa
The University of Tokyo (Japan)
Niels Volkmann
University of California, Santa Barbara
Peijun Zhang
University of Oxford (England)


© Baylor College of Medicine 2024
ATC CryoEM Core
N420, Alkek Building, One Baylor Plaza, Houston, Texas 77030
(713) 798-6989
   Powered by web2py